Feature Friday: Scarves

It’s starting to get cold here (it’s supposed to go down to 4 degrees tonight!) so all I can think about is staying warm. What better way is there than scarves? Thick, warm, chunky, wool scarves. I made an infinity scarf for myself two years ago but lost it last year and was without a proper scarf all winter. Last year was one of the coldest and longest winters in recent history and this year is supposed to be just as bad. Therefore I want to get started on one as soon as possible.

One I’ve considered making for a long time is the Colonnade Shawl by Stephen West. It’s simple, it can be worn as a shawl or scarf, and looks nice and quick to make.

I also like the Stockholm Scarf by knitted bliss. It is more of a cowl than a scarf which would be easy to make and wear. It has a nice lace-type pattern without being too open so it still looks warm. Also I luuurve the colour scarf that the author is wearing, though I know it says in the description the wool is not available. Also its free!

Finally I might go for a more traditional scarf like the Guernsey Wrap by Jared Flood for Brooklyn Tweed. It’s nice and wide and has  a lovely subtle design to it. I can imagine wearing this through the fall and winter and having some slack to pull it up over my face in the brutal winter winds.

Can’t wait to get stared!

Leave a Reply

