Sarafan Dress

Fotor0525230855I made this adorable little dress for the granddaughter of a woman I work with. It was a combo gift for Mothers Day/ little G’s first birthday which was just a couple days before. I loved the skirt and upper body part of the pattern but wasn’t a big fan of the straps. I ended up modifying them so  that they were narrower and attach at the front and back without buttons. At the same time I modified the bodice to come up higher at the front and back but stay low under the arms. I used Patons’s Grace in white for the skirt and viola for the bodice. I also added a removable flower to the front because without the buttons for the original straps it looked too bare without anything (video tutorial here for the flower pattern I used).

Fotor0525231520

I also made a matching flower headband with the same button on crochet flower. This is a link to my Ravelry project page for more info on yarn and sizing as well as a link to the original pattern.

Fotor0525232156

Leave a Reply

